Signature Programs

The Original Group

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, the oldest Greek-letter organization established by African American college women, was founded on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. Led by Ethel Hedgeman Lyle, nine Howard University students came together to form Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority on January 15, 1908 in Miner Hall. The students were scholars, leaders, and standouts in their community and classes.

To continue the growth of the organization, seven members of the class of 1910 were invited to join without initiation.

The first step of establishing a national body in perpetuity was taken on January 29, 1913 when Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority was legally incorporated.

The Original Group

The Sophomores

Joanna Mary Berry Shields

Norma Elizabeth Boyd

Ethel Jones Mowbray

Sarah Meriweather Nutter

Alice P. Murray

Carrie Snowden

Harriet Josephine Terry

The Sophomores

The Original Group

Anna Easter Brown

Beulah Elizabeth Burke

Lillie Burke

Marjorie Hill

Margaret Flagg Holmes

Ethel Hedgeman Lyle

Lavinia Norman

Lucy Diggs Slowe

Marie Woolfolk Taylor

Norma Elizabeth Boyd

Julia Evangeline Brooks

Ethel Jones Mowbray

Nellie Quander

Nellie Pratt Russel

Minnie B. Smith

The Incorporators


my business copyright 2000 no animals were harmed in the making

© 2011 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. - Eta Xi Chapter - All rights reserved

Eta Xi Chapter

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated

No Frame
This Site Was Created Using Wix.com . Create Your Own Site for Free >>Start